David Newman-Toker, MD, PhD

David Newman-Toker
Professor of Neurology
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
David Newman-Toker, MD, PhD

David E. Newman-Toker, MD PhD is an internationally-recognized leader in neuro-otology, acute stroke diagnosis, and the study of diagnostic errors. He completed his undergraduate studies at Yale University, his medical degree at University of Pennsylvania, his residency and neuro-ophthalmology fellowship training at Harvard University, his neuro-otology fellowship training at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, and his doctoral degree in clinical research methods at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. He has served as a full-time faculty member at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine since 2002. He is Professor of Neurology, Otolaryngology, and Ophthalmology, with joint appointments in Emergency Medicine, Acute Care Nursing, Health Sciences Informatics, Epidemiology, and Health Policy & Management at Johns Hopkins. Dr. Newman-Toker’s clinical and research focus is in diagnosis of acute disorders affecting the brainstem and cranial nerves, particularly stroke. He is recognized for his research in novel eye-movement-based bedside methods for diagnosing stroke in patients with acute dizziness and vertigo in the emergency department. He serves as Director of the Division of Neuro-Visual & Vestibular Disorders in the Department of Neurology. He also directs the Armstrong Institute Center for Diagnostic Excellence whose mission is to catalyze efforts to improve diagnostic performance, develop the science of diagnostic safety, and enhance diagnostic research. He has been the principal investigator for multiple NIH, AHRQ, and foundation grants. He has published over 135 journal articles and given more than 250 invited lectures on dizziness and diagnostic errors. He is a leader in the national and international movements to eliminate patient harms from diagnostic error. He has served as an expert consultant on diagnostic safety and quality to AHRQ, the National Quality Forum, and the National Academy of Medicine. He served as President of the Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine (SIDM) from 2018-2020.